Skip to content

Last Semester? Try to not stress!

March 22, 2010

So I realized today that it is my last semester of school and I need to find a job, but still work on all my classes, plus go to my internship. Have you ever felt like you on the edge of just crying? It seems crazy were 21 and 22 year olds going into the workforce. Will all of this extra work I am doing now help me in the long run? So many people say it will, but how can I know.

It seems like everyday we are faced with new questions about life and ourselves. How to deal with it? How can we deal with the stress of trying to create ourselves, find ourselves, and love ourselves all at the same time? For someone who has dealt with anxiety for a while I have managed to create these quick fix stress tips, some which may seem obvious but can help.

1. Cut down on caffeine. I try and limit myself to one caffeinated beverage a day. I love iced coffee but more than one can stress you out more than you know. My roommate works for redbull. What do you think my fridge is full of? I will maybe have a red bull towards the end of the week when I really need it. ONLY ONE. Chugging energy drinks will work against you. Trust me.

2. It is okay to be stress and anxious. One thing I learned is the best way to deal with anxiety and stress is to acknowledge it’s presence. Avoiding it will just let it build up ad become worse. Know that it is okay to feel anxious feelings, you will be okay just breath in through your nose and out of your mouth to bring yourself back.

3. Make time for yourself. I know sounds crazy. Even if it is 15 minutes a day for you to be able to relax. Find a quiet place where you will not be bothered. Get comfortable. Even relaxing music of CDs can help tremendously. If you do not have a second at all, listen to some music before bed or while you are getting ready in the morning.

4. Exercise. I do not like to exercise at all but it really does help. I have been going to the gym three or four times a week and I do feel a lot better.

5. Be able to ask for help. The only thing I learned from my internship is my advisor encourages us to ask for help if we need it. It is better to learn the correct way of doing something it will only help you in the future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 10:26 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

